Dick Johnson AM

Racing Legend & Co-Owner, Dick Johnson Racing

Dick Johnson is an icon and legend of Australian Motorsport. His racing career started in 1964, and winning came naturally, taking victory in his second ever race. He rose to prominence throughout the 1970s, before exploding into the national consciousness at the 1980 Bathurst 1000, when he hit the infamous rock whilst in the lead of the ‘Great Race’.

The resultant response from the Australian public is now folklore, catapulting Dick and his fledgling team to the front of the pack for years to come. He would become one of Australia’s most loved sporting characters, going on to win three Bathurst 1000 titles, and five Australian Touring Car Championships in a career that lasted more than 30 years.

After his retirement from driving in 1999, Dick continued as the figurehead of Dick Johnson Racing, culminating in another Championship in 2010 for the prestigious organisation, the seventh for the team.

In late 2014, Johnson joined forces with Roger Penske to create DJR Team Penske, and together they returned the team to the top. Between 2015 and 2020 they won three Teams’ Championships and three back-to-back Drivers’ Championships with Scott McLaughlin. In 2021, the team enters a new era with the team continuing as Dick Johnson Racing and with two new drivers joining the stable.