Solid Points and Podium in New Zealand

Solid Points and Podium in New Zealand



Fabian Coulthard – No. 12 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Qualifying – 8th (Fastest Lap: 1m02.8333s)

Race 24 – 5th (Fastest Lap: 1m04.0117s)

RECAP: It was a race of conservation and strategy for the Car 12 team, with smart driving and good work in the pits seeing Fabian jump from an eighth place start into a top-five finish. Fabian fell back a little in the early stages of the race, however as pit stops and fuel strategies played out he catapulted through the field. It was a strong points haul for him after yesterday’s disastrous DNF, and places him 176 points back from the lead in third place of the Championship. His good run also scored valuable Team’s points, with Shell V-Power Racing leading the board by 106 heading into the final event.

COULTHARD QUOTE: “I’m nothing without my team, and the fact that I was out on track at all is completely down to them. After finishing up on my roof yesterday, I’m very happy to finish in the top-five today, and will keep pushing to the end.”

Scott McLaughlin – No. 17 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Qualifying – 2nd (Fastest Lap: 1m02.5203s)

Race 23 – 2nd (Fastest Lap: 1m03.8467s)

RECAP: McLaughlin was pushing hard for success in front of his home crowd today, missing pole position by five hundredths of a second before racing Whincup hard across the 70-lap, 200km race. The team took an aggressive approach on fuel strategy, however raw pace was lacking and McLaughlin had to settle for his second podium of the weekend. He missed winning the JR Trophy by only three points, and is now 30 points behind Whincup, sitting second in the Championship heading into the Newcastle 500 – the final race weekend of the season.

MCLAUGHLIN QUOTE:“Happy with how the weekend has played out, I’ve kept myself in contention with two podiums this weekend, only 30 points behind heading into Newcastle. Disappointed that I couldn’t get a win in front of my home crowd, but we’ll take the fight to the last race.”

1. Jamie Whincup 2850
2. Fabian Coulthard 2820
3. Scott McLaughlin 2674
4. Chaz Mostert 2586
5. Shane van Gisbergen 2574
6. Craig Lowndes 2160
7. Cameron Waters 2071
8. Mark Winterbottom 2058
9. Garth Tander 2028
10. David Reynolds 1956
1. Shell V-Power Racing Team 5151
2. Triple Eight Race Engineering (Whincup/Van Gisbergen) 4971
3. Prodrive Racing Australia (Winterbottom/Waters) 3765
4. Garry Rogers Motorsport 3156
5. Erebus Motorsport 2952
6. Walkinshaw Racing 2859
7. Nissan Motorsport (R. Kelly/T. Kelly) 2697
8. Brad Jones Racing 2568
9. Prodrive Racing Australia (Mostert) 2454
10. Nissan NISMO (Caruso/De Silvestro) 2403